Bigger Truck? Another discussion with an engineer

duggydo

Andre from TFL talked with an engineer about a variety of things relating to towing, payload, tires, etc. I always like these discussions when Tim or someone else talks with engineers. Maybe I'm biased because I'm an engineer, but I think a lot of guys in general like to know more about the specs and calculations, etc.

It was an interesting topic, but the engineer was a little dry when presenting his viewpoint. Seems like most people overload their trucks when towing anything above 60% of the max towing weight, and that includes me lol.

I would love that the manufacturer would need to follow an engineering standard for payload like they do for towing.
It's bizarre that the max towing standard accounts for 300lbs of driver/passenger but sometimes when looking at the payload sticker, if you had the max tongue weight, you would barely have 100lbs of payload left. A fully decked out power wagon has 1100 pounds of payload, with a max towing of 10 800lbs. With 10% tongue weight at 1080lbs, you're left with 20lbs of payload....

It was good to hear some insight into that spec and how it was created. I like how he explained gearing doesn't change max trailer weight capability, but it affects the acceleration part of the test. It was like Andre couldn't understand what he meant there. I think it would have been better if Andre just let him explain the tests, but he kept interrupting and covering extremely basic mundane stuff.

I tried to watch it and in total probably watched about 60-70% of it. I generally find the TFL crew tough to watch when it comes to engineer type interviews. They seem to want to try and insert humor and cut the speaker short when they feel an answer has gone on long enough. Roman is the worst but it's happening to Andre too. Right as the answer is getting to a good spot or in deep on a topic I want to hear about they move on. This guy was definitely knowledgable but also pretty dry.